INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR RESEARCH IN INCOME AND WEALTH

COUNCIL

ANDREA BRANDOLINI (Chairperson)

ANDREW SHARPE (Executive Director)

ALBERT BRAAKMANN

FRANCISCO FERREIRA BARBARA FRAUMENI JOACHIM FRICK MARKUS JÄNTTI STEPHEN JENKINS

JACQUES MAGNIEZ

RUTH MEIER ALICE NAKAMURA BISHNU PANT PETER SAUNDERS PETER VAN DE VEN

ED WOLFF

500-111 SPARK STREET OTTAWA, ONTARIO CANADA KIP 5B5

TELEPHONE: 613-233-8891 FAX: 613-233-8250 E-MAIL: info@iariw.org WEB SITE: www.iariw.org

Dear Member,

This message provides the ballot for the 2010 Council election and an update on IARIW activities.

Council Elections

Every two years the IARIW membership elects three members to serve on the Council for a six year term. This year we have received six nominations for the three positions. IARIW members in good standing (i.e. paid-up members for 2010) are invited to vote for up to three individuals. Bios of the candidates are posted at http://www.iariw.org/councilrecnom2010.php.

The deadline for receipt of ballots by the IARIW secretariat is Midnight (EDT) on August 15, 2010. The new Council members will be announced at the annual members meeting on August 24, 2010 at the 31st IARIW General Conference in St. Gallen, Switzerland.

The ballot is found below and is also attached as a Word file. I look forward to a high turnout.

2010 IARIW General Conference

Registration Deadline

Members are reminded that those participating in the 31st IARIW General Conference in St. Gallen, Switzerland August 22-28, 2010 are asked to register by June 28. Persons who register after this date pay a late registration fee of 100 Swiss francs. In addition, accommodation is not guaranteed after this date. Registration information is posted at http://www.iariw.bfs.admin.ch.

Trainings Sessions

Following up the first very successful training session held at the 2008 General Conference in Slovenia, the IARIW this year is organizing two training sessions. Both will be held concurrently on Saturday, August 21 and Sunday, August 22 immediately before the General Conference.

The training session on national accounts first offered in Slovenia will be repeated. It will be given by Derek Blades, former Head of National Accounts at the OECD, and Peter van de

Ven, Head of National Accounts at Statistics Netherlands. In addition, a training session on micro-simulation modelling will be given by Holly Sutherland from the University of Essex.

There is no registration fee for either IARIW individual members or employees of IARIW institutional members. As space may be limited, persons interested in attending are asked to register as soon as possible. Details on the sessions and a link to the registration form are posted at http://www.iariw.org/training2010.php.

Notice of Members Meeting

As pursuant to the IARIW bylaws, notice is hereby given that the annual members meeting of the Association will take place at 20:30 on Tuesday, August 24, 2010 at the 31st IARIW General Conference in St. Gallen, Switzerland. The agenda for the meeting is posted at www.iariw.org/agenda2010.pdf.

Session Proposals for 2012 IARIW General Conference

Members are reminded that session proposals for the 32nd IARIW General Conference, which will take place in Boston in late July or early August 2012, are now being received by the secretariat (<u>info@iariw.org</u>) and will continue to be received until noon on Tuesday, August 24, 2010. These proposals will be distributed and debated at the members meeting.

Angus Maddison (1926-2010)

Angus Maddison, one of the Association's most distinguished members, passed away on April 24, 2010 at the age of 83. An obituary, written by Bart van Ark, Derek Blades and Harry Wu detailing his important contributions to economics, will appear in the September 2010 issue of the *Review of Income and Wealth*. The obituary is also posted at http://www.iariw.org/IN Memory of Angus Maddison.pdf.

Shiskin Award for Economic Statistics

Congratulations to IARIW Member and 2008 Ruggles Lecturer Dale W. Jorgenson, the Samuel W. Morris Professor at Harvard University, for winning the 2010 Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics. The award recognized Professor Jorgenson for his contributions to the measurement of productiuvity, innovation, capital, and human capital, and for his leadership in the integration of the U.S. National Accounts. Details on the award and on Dale's many contributions to economic statistics are found at http://www.iariw.org/ShiskinpressreleaseJorgenson.pdf.

IARIW 2011 Special Conference on Income and Wealth in Africa

In non-General Conference years the IARIW organizes conferences on specialized topics. In 2007, the IARIW, in partnership with the National Bureau of Statistics of China, organized a conference in Beijing on measuring income and wealth in transition economies. In 2009, in

partnership with the South Asia Institute of Management, the IARIW organized a conference in Kathmandu on measuring the informal economy in developing countries.

In the fall of 2011, in partnership with Statistics South Africa, the IARIW will hold a conference in South Africa on measuring income and wealth in Africa. Stephan Klasen, well known to the Association as Editor of the *Review of Income and Wealth*, and a specialist in income and wealth issues related to Africa, will chair the program committee. The call for papers will appear shortly and will be posted on the homepage of the website and be published in the September 2010 issue of the *Review of Income and Wealth*.

If members have any questions regarding any aspect of IARIW activities or operations, please contact me.

I look forward to seeing as many members as possible in Switzerland in just over two months.

Sincerely,

Andrew Sharpe

Executive Director

International Association for Research in Income and Wealth

Chohen Sharpe

500-111 Sparks Street Ottawa ON K1P 5B5

Canada

Telephone: +1 613 233 8891

Fax: +1 613 233 8250

Email: andrew.sharpe@csls.ca

Website: www.iariw.org

Ballot for the Election of IARIW Council Members, 2010-2016

IARIW members in good standing are asked to vote for up to three of the following candidates to serve as members of the IARIW Council for the 2010-2016 term. Please email, fax or mail the ballot to the IARIW secretariat to be received by Midnight (EDT) on August 15, 2010. The results will be announced at the annual meeting of the Association to be held at the 31st General Conference in St. Gallen, Switzerland, August 22-28.

Bios of the candidates are posted at http://www.iariw.org/councilrecnom2010.php.

Albert Braakmann (German Federal Statistical Office) ___

Erwin Diewert (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Fabrice Lenglart (INSEE, France)
Sylvie Michaud (Statistics Canada)
D.S. Prasada Rao (Univeristy of Queensland, Australia)
Harry Wu (Hitotsubashi University, Japan)
Please email ballots to <u>info@iariw.org</u> or fax to 1-613-233-8250, or mail to IARIW, 500-111 Sparks Street, Ottawa, Canada K1P 5B5.